Artists for the Artists • Katarzyna Kobro Award

Józef Robakowski is an author of the idea of the Katarzyna Kobro Award which is being admitted to one chosen artist by other artists.
The aim of the project is, as he says, "to honor a progressive attitude of the Artist that is open for exchange thoughts and unselfish initiator of cultural events". This kind of exceptional distinction will be annually admitted by the council of representatives of various art branches.

Katarzyna Kobro Award in 2011 has been provided by Robakowski (initiator awards) and Darius Bienkowski (the founder of the prize) with the East Gallery to the Museum of Art in Lodz.


Award winners:

2001 Zbigniew Dłubak

2002 Jürgen Blum-Kwiatkowski

2003 Andrzej Dłużniewski

2004 Krzysztof M. Bednarski

2005 Teresa Murak

2006 Krzysztof Wodiczko

2007 Jerzy Lewczyński

2008 Zbigniew Rybczyński

2009 Andrzej Lachowicz




...one must be be aware, entirely, definitely, once and for all, that sculpture is either a literature or symbols or individual psychological emotion.
The sculpture is only shaping a form in space.
The sculpture faces towards all men and talks to them in one way…
Katarzyna Kobro, Sculpture and mass, Europe, nr 2, 1929